Edmonds’ Carnegie Library opened February 17th, 1911, becoming the 19th Carnegie Library in Washington State. 


1st Quarter Board Meeting &
General Membership Annual Meeting

January 19, 2019
Board Meeting 10:00 am

Annual Meeting begins shortly afterwards (about 11:15 am)
Edmonds Historical Museum (1910 Carnegie Library building)
118 5th Ave N, Edmonds, WA 98020


The Malstrom Awards Luncheon

Saturday, March 16
New Granite Falls City Hall & Community Center

Heritage News & Education


The Lynnwood woman is honored with a key to the city.

Published in The Herald, by Rikki King, Sunday, November 25, 2018. Photo by KUOW/Joshua McNichols.

LYNNWOOD — Betty Lou Gaeng remembers exactly when she got into writing.

She was 15, and her father was working with veterans. He brought her to visit a naval hospital, where some of the young men were so severely injured they couldn’t pen letters back home.

Gaeng wrote the messages for them. If they weren’t sure what to say, she described the hospital scenes and told their loved ones why she was there.


Heritage Award Winners

This year’s Malstrom Heritage Awards Luncheon at the wonderful new Marysville Museum, held March 17, 2018, honored the Marysville Historical Society (Project) and the Mukilteo Historical Society (Publication).

The Marysville Museum is an exciting new facility to discover local history. The Marysville Historical Society is dedicated to the discovery, preservation and display of all items relating to the history of the Greater Marysville area. The group’s president, Ken Cage, was honored for leading the newly constructed museum near Jennings Memorial Park. The 8,000-square-foot building features a main exhibit room, meeting rooms, kitchen, smaller exhibit areas and an upstairs office.
Read the Herald article from June 2017.

Dr. Margaret Robe Summitt accepted the award for the Mukilteo group. Their outstanding work to produce guidebook “Mukilteo Pioneer Cemetery: Honoring Our History” includes GPS coordinates throughout the cemetery.
Read the
Herald article from August 2017.
Download the Map of Mukilteo Pioneer Cemetery (PDF).