The League’s Heritage Annual Awards program recognizes outstanding contributions to preserving our heritage in Snohomish County and to share experience, skills and resources. Individuals and groups to submit nominations for their heritage related projects in Snohomish County each January and the awards are presented in March. We encourage and welcome nominations of all types and sizes to help acknowledge those that may go unnoticed outside of our local communities. Scroll down for nomination form and information on past project winners.

Eligible activities include historic preservation of architecture or cultural sites, historical or genealogical research/collections, exhibits, publications (print and online), audio/video productions and museum work. While an individual may be named to represent the project, it is usually the project itself and not the individual for which the award is made. Organizations and individuals are encouraged to nominate themselves since they have the best knowledge of the project.  If you think there is a good candidate but do not know how to begin, please contact us.

We can help people with the nomination form but often our members do not know of the projects so please encourage anyone who might be eligible to complete the forms.

To be eligible the project

  • must have been completed in prior calendar year
  • must be either independent (for example, a book, exhibit, or historic building restoration) or a clearly identifiable portion of a larger project.

If more than one publication is nominated, more than one award may be given, one for an outstanding publication and one for an outstanding project. 

The criteria the award will be based on:

  • Providing new or unique historic information, interpretation or discoveries
  • Contributing to the preservation or interpretation of Snohomish County history
  • Use of best museum, research or digital practices
  • Effective collaboration with other community organizations such as school groups, service clubs, libraries as additional outreach.
  • Creative use of resources which may include funding, donated materials or services, consultants or staffing. A frequently asked question concerns applying for your own project, this is perfectly appropriate, the project managers are the most familiar with the projects and have the best access to documentation of the project (photos, testimonials, narrative descriptions, etc.)

Please nominate your favorite historic preservation project in Snohomish County for the 2016 Heritage Award.

Nominations are being accepted for the awards for projects and programs completed in 2016.

Click here for information (pdf).

Heritage Award Nomination Form 2016 (rtf)

Past Projects and Winners

Heritage Award Nominees 2016

Malstrom Award Winner 2015

Malstrom Award Nominees 2015

Malstrom Awards Winners 2014

Malstrom Awards Winners 2013

Malstrom Awards Nominees 2013

Malstrom Award Winner 2012

Malstrom Award Nominees 2012

Malstrom Award Winner 2011

Malstrom Award Nominees 2011

Malstrom Award Winners 2010

Malstrom Award Nominations for 2010

Malstrom Award Winners 1985_2009

The League of Snohomish County Heritage Organizations began as the idea of Brent Lambert, Snohomish County Heritage Planner. The group was officially formed in 1983 and, in an effort to encourage and honor heritage projects in the county, an annual awards program began, named after county volunteer and local history writer Helmer Malstrom who died in 1985. For 25 years the award was presented at the League’s annual meeting and luncheon held in Snohomish. From 2012- 2014, the presentation has been part of the League’s Heritage Day events, which were held in Stanwood at the Floyd Norgaard Cultural Center building. This year (2017) the Malstrom Award luncheon returns to the Floyd Norgaard Cultural Center in Stanwood to celebrate over 30 years of this program.

The Malstrom award has been given for historical publications, the preservation or rebuilding of historic structures and sites, the creation of new museums, various special exhibits and digital projects. (There is no monetary award). Beginning with 2014, the award was separated into two awards, one for publications (books, calendars, etc) and one for projects (exhibits, historic preservation projects, events, etc.)